A Birthday Cake For Fiona

Last night Mr Hungry Squirrel and I went out for dinner to celebrate my Mother-In-Law’s birthday.

I decided to make a birthday cake for Fiona as part of her birthday present.
The inspiration for this cake was Fiona’s engagement ring, which features a beautiful flower of aquamarine petals.


The cake itself was a classic Victoria Sponge, sandwiched with buttercream and raspberry jam.

I used the pretty Hydrangea Cutter for the delicate floral decor, and Ice Blue by Sugarflair colour paste to achieve this beautiful shade of blue.


I was thrilled with how the cake turned out, and it tasted delicious too! Most importantly, Fiona was over the moon.


I couldn’t resist showing you this cheeky looking Hungry Squirrel I picked up in Glasgow’s West End on Monday! :0)

16 thoughts on “A Birthday Cake For Fiona

  1. A beuatiful cake and wonderful colour choice but turquoise blues and duck egg are my favourites – loved the decorations – very classy! Your cupcakes are amazing also so beautiful work.

  2. Pingback: Happy (Belated) Birthday Edith Wharton - Tweetspeak Poetry

Leave a Reply

