Hello Home-Bakers…

OK folks, I am new to the blogging world, but thought it was about time I had a place to share my adventures in home baking.

I have had a love of baking from an early age, Thanks to my late Mum, who always had our cupboards stocked up with home-baked delights! Some of my fondest childhood memories are of helping Mum out in the kitchen.

Cooking and baking have remained a strong interest throughout my life, though study, and subsequently work seem to have a bad habit of getting in the way!
It is just within the last year, after getting married to my lovely husband Stuart, that I have had the time to explore and expand my baking abilities.
I love to bake, and I love pretty things, so I get great pleasure from trying out new recipes and learning new techniques on how to prettify my cakes.

At present, I am baking for myself, and for friends and family.
I am currently perfecting a range of cupcakes, and in January I begin an Introduction to Cake Decorating night class, so Watch This Space…

I have found Twitter recently, and have been thrilled with how friendly and supportive and inspirational the Twitter community can be. Why not follow me on Twitter at @alisonemckenzie

2 thoughts on “Hello Home-Bakers…

  1. I am one of the lucky people who gets to try out Alison’s cupcakes and they are delicious and beautifully decorated.

    I’m also a fan of the Great British Bake Off. I decided to try out Mary Berry’s Tarte au Citron that she demonstrated recently http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/tarte_au_citron_94480. Has anybody else tried it? It was mouthwateringly good. However the pastry was much more difficult to handle than you’d think, although Mary made it look very easy! I would try it again now I’ve got the hang of it.
    I’d love to hear of anyone else’s experiences of the Bake Off recipes.

Leave a Reply

