Carrot Cake (nut-free version) Weekly Bake-Off

As a keen home-baker, hoping to improve and expand my baking skills, I have found Twitter a great place to discuss baking tips, recipes, and tutorials.

This weekend I decided I would like to try a Carrot Cake recipe, and @WeeklyBakeOff kindly answered my request on Twitter for a good recipe.

Recently, I have been following @WeeklyBakeOff on Twitter.
She has set herself a weekly challenge to bake her way through Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes And Bakes, in order to improve her baking ability. I admire her drive and dedication to bake her way through all 100 recipes, and think this is a great idea!
Find out more about the Weekly Bake Off challenge.

As for the recipe, I decided to use Weekly Bake Off’s own recipe. I did adapt it slightly as I have a husband who is allergic to nuts.
For my recipe, keep on reading…

I am thrilled with this recipe. The cake turned out really well, with a great consistency and a beautiful flavour.

I am most grateful to Amy from Weekly Bake-Off for this recipe.

I know this is one I am going to use over and over again!

Here, you can see all the Weekly Bake-Off entrants’ submissions for Carrot Cake.

The Recipe

Ingredients

Cake

  • 150g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 250g carrots, coarsley grated
  • 150ml corn oil
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
Frosting

  • 50g butter at room temp
  • 75g full fat cream cheese
  • 1/2tsp vanilla essence
  • 150g icing sugar

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C/Gas 4.
Grease and line a deep 18cm cake tin.

Put all the ingredients into a large bowl and mix until combined.

Pour the batter into the tin and bake for 35-40 minutes, until the cake is well risen, golden and beginning to shrink away from the sides of the tin.
A fine skewer inserted into the centre of the cake should come out clean.

Leave in the tin to cool for a few minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and allow to cool completely.
Meanwhile, beat the butter until smooth then add the cream cheese and vanilla essence and mix well.
Add the icing sugar and beat until light and fluffy.
Cover the cake and decorate.
Most importantly, ENJOY!
10 thoughts on “Carrot Cake (nut-free version) Weekly Bake-Off

  1. Pingback: Sugarpaste Carrots « hungrysquirrelcakes

  2. Pingback: Halloween Cupcakes « hungrysquirrelcakes

  3. Pingback: Halloween Cupcakes | Hungry Squirrels

  4. Pingback: Sugarpaste Carrots | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

