The Lansdowne Big Bake Off For Macmillan Cancer Support

 

It was a few weeks ago on Twitter that I noticed a local bar, The Lansdowne, was hosting a Bake Off for Macmillan’s Big Coffee Morning on Friday September 30 2011.

As I have been on a drive to improve my home-baking, I thought this was a great opportunity to get some feedback on my baking, and more importantly to help raise money for a great cause.

Unfortunately I was working on the day of the coffee morning, but I arranged to leave my cakes in to the bar on the night before the big event.

I have been perfecting a range of cupcakes lately, and thought these would be perfect for selling at the coffee morning. I  decided to make my Raspberry & Honey Cupcakes (recipe by Rachel Allen) and Vanilla Cupcakes.

Now, I think the decoration of the cupcakes is almost as important as the taste.
The Raspberry & Honey cupcakes are decorated with a pink frosting, so really suit pretty, pink sugarpaste flowers and bows.

For the Vanilla Cupcakes I decided to try some edible cake toppers. I had never used these before, and once again Twitter came to my rescue…
@staffordcupcake always has beautiful cupcakes, and occasionally uses edible toppers for corporate cupcakes. So, Thanks Kelly for putting me in touch with Top That Edible Cake Toppers.
I was thrilled with the finish using these little toppers, and also thought it was important to highlight what the Bake Off was in aid of.

Even though I missed the event itself, I was thrilled to find out The Lansdwone’s Big Bake Off raised over £300 for MacMillan Cancer Support.
And, just before finishing work on the Bake Off day I received a lovely phone call from Barry, the Assistant Manager of The Lansdowne, to tell me my Raspberry & Honey Cupcakes had won 2nd place. I was thrilled!

The judges included The Glasgow Food Blog and Evelyn from Top Tier Cakes. Many Thanks for placing me 2nd!

Here is a blog post from Glasgow Food Blog about the Bake Off.

One thought on “The Lansdowne Big Bake Off For Macmillan Cancer Support

Leave a Reply

