Anne Møller’s Irish Wheaten Bread

So before I met the lovely Mr McKenzie I was Alison Møller… Anne Møller is my Mum.

Sadly I lost my Mum 5 years ago now. I miss her every day.
My love of baking most definitely comes from my Mum, and some of my earliest memories are of helping Mum out in the kitchen.
We both shared a dream of opening a coffee shop one day, where we could sell our home-baked goods.
Mum even passed on her baking skills to my Dad, who over the last 5 years has really come into his own in the kitchen. He whips up a mean Lemon Meringue Pie (L.M.P.), and has made some heavenly Danish Pastries, never mind his Crème Caramel!

This recipe for Wheaten Bread has always been a hit in our house growing up, and a freshly baked loaf was often sent back to University with my brothers and I after a trip home to N Ireland.

This recipe is so simple. It is definitely suitable to make with the little folk in the house.

To be honest, I am not sure where my Mum got the recipe from, but to me and to those who knew her, this will always be Anne Møller’s Wheaten Bread.

The Recipe

Ingredients


  • 8oz stoneground wholemeal flour, and a little extra for dusting the tin
  • 3oz pinhead oats/course oatmeal
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda, sifted
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ pint buttermilk

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C.
Lightly butter a 2lb loaf tin, and then dust lightly with some of the wholemeal flour.


Put the flour, oatmeal, sugar, salt, and bicarbonate of soda in a bowl and mix well together.

Whisk the egg into the buttermilk and add to the bowl, mixing everything together thoroughly.

Place the mixture into the tin, level, and then score a line down the centre to ensure an even rise.


Bake in the middle of the oven for 50-60 minutes.
When ready, if you knock the base of the loaf you should hear a hollow sound.
Leave to cool in the tin for 15 minutes, then turn out on to a wire rack to cool.


As with most bread, this is best eaten fresh on day 1 or day 2.
I recommend it with lashings of butter!
If there is any left after day 2 it is lovely toasted.

Enjoy!

14 thoughts on “Anne Møller’s Irish Wheaten Bread

  1. Was talking to your dad last nite about your mums wheaten i will definately try this as norman eats two ormo ones a week lol xx

  2. This looks really tasty – I love Irish soda bread so will give this wheaten loaf a go. Lovely post and I hope your dream can come true one day x

  3. Pingback: Dan Lepard’s Soft Vanilla Fudge « hungrysquirrelcakes

  4. Pingback: The Kindness Of Strangers « hungrysquirrelcakes

  5. Pingback: The Kindness Of Strangers | Hungry Squirrels

  6. Pingback: Dan Lepard’s Soft Vanilla Fudge | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

