Food Bloggers Unplugged

Earlier today I was tagged by the lovely Nelly of Nelly’s Cupcakes to take part in Food Bloggers Unplugged… the persona behind the blog.

So if you want to find out more about the gal behind Hungry Squirrel Cakes, read on!

What or who inspired you to start your blog?

OK, so I am fairly new to blogging, but I am hooked! My first blog post was on October 08 2011.
I guess Twitter is responsible for my decision to start a blog.
Specifically, I would like to mention Amy from Weekly Bake-Off and Nelly from Nelly’s Cupcakes. These two lovely ladies are the authors of two of the first blogs I started really following.
Since then I have come across, and befriended on Twitter, many lovely people who share my love of baking/cooking/food…

Who is your foodie inspiration?

My biggest foodie inspiration is my Mum. She taught me so much about cookery and baking and was the best Mum a girl could have wished for.
I love cookery books, and Thanks to my Mum I have great respect for Delia Smith.
I would also have to mention my lovely Dad here.
He has come on leaps and bounds in cookery/baking over the last 5 years, and is definitely a foodie inspiration.
From the world of food writers I would count Rachel Allen as a source of inspiration for an amateur cook/baker like myself.

Your greasiest most batter splattered cook book is?

It has to be Deila Smith’s Complete Cookery Course!
Particularly well splattered pages are Lasagne Al Forno & Squidgy Chocolate Log!

The best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was it and what was it?

One meal which really stands out for me was in Aux Anciens Canadiens in Quebec.
My best friend Emily and I spent 3 weeks travelling round Toronto and Quebec in the Summer of 2002 (the summer before entering our final year at University). We were living out of rucsacs, sharing youth hostel dorms with random strangers (some of whom snored rather loudly, seemed to follow us from hostel to hostel, and even left their rather large underpants on my bed!), and were surviving on a diet of bagels and cream cheese and Tim Horton’s coffee.
Before we left home for our Canadian adventure, my Dad very kindly gave me his credit card to pay for a meal in Aux Anciens Canadiens, as my parents had dined there on a recent holiday to Quebec, and loved it!
So, on reaching Quebec we booked a table for two at the restaurant.
I don’t think I have ever enjoyed a meal out quite as much. I think the fact that it was paid for by someone else, and it didn’t involve bagels or cream cheese, was quite overwhelming for 2 young backpackers on a budget!
I still remember what I had to this day… French Onion Soup to start, followed by Maple Syrup Glazed Duck Breast, finished off with Maple Syrup crème brûlée.

Another Food Blogger’s table you would like to eat at?

Tricky, there are so many.
However, Maria of Maria’s Kitchen and Victoria of 21st century urban housewife are always posting delectable delights that I would love to try!

What one kitchen gadget would you like Santa to bring you? (money no object)

An Aga!
OK, so first I need a bigger house, never mind a bigger kitchen!
Aside from friends and family, one of the things I miss most about home (I still think of my parent’s house as home) is my parents’ kitchen complete with a beautiful cream-coloured Aga.
I love cooking on the Aga. I love the warmth it brings to the kitchen, and how the dog always curls up on the floor right in front of it, with the clothers airing on the rack above the Aga.
One day!…

Who taught you how to cook?

Simple… my Mum!

I’m coming to you for dinner, what is your signature dish?

I would have to say Lasagne!
I know it’s a simple dish, but I have adapted Delia’s recipe to my own, and perfected it over the years. I could make it with my eyes closed!

What is your guilty food pleasure?

Peanut butter and raspberry jam on toast, especially as Mr McKenzie is allergic to nuts!

Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn?

When I was a little girl I was awarded the Quietest Bunny in my Bunnies troop!
My first crush was Boris Becker, when he first won Wimbledon!

And now I have to tag five other Food Bloggers to answer these questions:

  1. Maria’s Kitchen
  2. 21st century urban housewife
  3. Baking Elements
  4. 366 Recipe Challenge
  5. Mikes Baking
8 thoughts on “Food Bloggers Unplugged

Leave a Reply

