Fiona’s Tea Loaf

So, with every January comes New Year Resolutions.
I have to be honest, I am not big on New Year Resolutions, due to the low willpower threshold I have mentioned previously.
However, like most people, I have great intentions to eat less, exercise more, and live a healthier life.

This recipe is a vein attempt to include some lower fat content recipes on my blog, and is certainly healthier than some of the other recipes I have featured on my blog, due to the absence of butter in the ingredients list.

Though I have to admit, I can’t help but serve a slice of tea loaf with a good slathering of butter… woops!


This recipe was adapted slightly from a recipe given to me by my mother-in-law Fiona… hence Fiona’s Tea Loaf!

The Recipe

Ingredients


  • 225g sultanas
  • 200g soft light brown sugar
  • 300ml tea
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 275g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp mixed spice

Method


Place the sultanas and tea into a mixing bowl, cover with a clean cloth, and leave for 3-4 hours, or overnight.


Preheat the oven to 170°C.
Lightly butter and line a 2lb loaf tin, or use a loaf tin liner.

Add the beaten egg and sugar to the soaked fruit, and mix well using a wooden spoon.


Sift in the flour and baking powder, add the mixed spice, and mix well.
Spoon the mixture into the prepared loaf tin.


Bake for 1 – 1¼ hours, until a fine skewer inserted comes out clean.

Cover the top with baking paper or foil halfway through the bake to prevent the loaf from browning too much.



Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Fiona’s Tea Loaf

Leave a Reply

