Cupcakes & Roses… Lessons With Mrs Jones

Last year I attended a local evening class on cupcake decoration, which was great for getting me started with the basics of working with sugarpaste… Since then I have enjoyed creating different cupcakes for friends and family, such as my pretty little girly cupcakes and baby shower cupcakes.

However, I am keen to learn more about cake decoration, and to explore the possibility of setting up my own small business selling cakes and cupcakes from home. So for my Christmas present I asked Mr Hungry Squirrel to book me in to Mrs Jones’ Cupcakes as a Business class, and he generously obliged!

After 7 years in the NHS as a Registered Nurse and Midwife, followed by 25 years service in HM Forces as a QARANC Officer, Sheila Jones now runs her own business teaching people of all ages and abilities to bake and decorate cakes from her beautiful kitchen in Glasgow’s Southside. Mrs Jones also creates beautiful bespoke cakes and cupcakes to order.
I have tasted her vanilla cupcakes, and can honestly say they are the most deliciously light, and beautifully presented cupcakes I have had the pleasure of eating – definitely the standard I aspire to!

So on Sunday January 15 2012 I packed my notebook and pen, and arrived at Mrs Jones’ beautiful house, ready to learn all about setting up my own cake business from home.
The class ran from 10.00 – 16.00, and covered a wide range of topics from the world of tax to essential equipment, and from social media to local business contacts…
I would highly recommend this class if you are considering starting your own business. I left this class feeling much more focussed on what I need to work towards now in order to sell my cakes, and armed with an array of useful contacts and suppliers..

I enjoyed my time with Mrs Jones so much that I was keen to book one of her hands-on decorating classes. So I decided to treat myself, and booked the Wedding Cupcake class.
Once again, I had a lovely day with Mrs Jones, and was thrilled with the fruits of my labour. The icing on the cake was learning how to make this life-sized rose…



And these miniature roses are so sweet.


I love the vintage feel of  this cupcake with the pearls and roses.



I am thrilled with the final ensemble of my cupcakes, and am most grateful to Mrs Jones for her expert tutelage.




Keep an eye on Mrs Jones‘ website, as she is currently in the process of setting up an online shop where you can buy some of the cake decorating tools used to create the cupcakes above.

12 thoughts on “Cupcakes & Roses… Lessons With Mrs Jones

  1. I love Mrs Jones cupcakes. We were lucky enough to have her at one of our work events last year and the cakes went down a storm. She also set me up with a full set of food colourings which I love!

  2. They look so pretty – wow! I am going on a cupcake course at the end of the month now I am very excited – not sure mine will look like that though! They look very professional so go for the dream!

  3. Pingback: Birds Of A Feather Photo Shoot – Cakes & Cookies | hungrysquirrelcakes

  4. Pingback: Birds Of A Feather Photo Shoot – Cakes & Cookies | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

