Mr Hungry Squirrel’s Big Birthday

Mr Hungry Squirrel celebrated a rather significant birthday at the beginning of March.
A special birthday called for some special cakes…!

I have limited experience in decorating celebration cakes… my first was last year’s Christmas Cake.
However, I have recently attended an Introduction To Cake Decorating evening class at a local college, and have picked up some tips, and gained some more confidence, for tackling celebration cakes.

I baked a deliciously moist chocolate cake, sandwiched and coated it with a rich chocolate buttercream, before covering in a layer of chocolate sugarpaste, followed by a layer of ivory-coloured sugarpaste.

I decided to keep the decoration simple, opting for a colour scheme of ivory and chocolate-brown.
I had been looking forward to trying out my new Funky Alphabet & Number Cutters, and was thrilled with the results. They were a little fiddly to use at first, but I soon got the hang of it.

Sadly I didn’t manage to get any photos of the sliced cake, but I was thrilled with how the cake turned out, and it didn’t take long for it to disappear!

I also baked some rather special cupcakes for the birthday boy.
Blog post coming soon…

6 thoughts on “Mr Hungry Squirrel’s Big Birthday

  1. Pingback: St Mirren Cupcakes « hungrysquirrelcakes

  2. Pingback: St Mirren Cupcakes | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

