Spring Flowers Cupcakes

Today I attended a Cupcake Bake-Off at Sofi’s Bar in Edinburgh, to raise money for the MS Society.
The event was planned by 3 very lovely Edinburgh Cake Ladies; Fiona, Katey and Victoria.

I had a lovely afternoon. I met some lovely people who love to bake as much as I do, and sampled some seriously delicious cupcakes! My personal favourites were Melissa‘s Lime & Coconut Cupcakes.
Most importantly, the afternoon raised £460.56 for the MS Society, so well done Fiona, Katey and Victoria, and Thankyou for all your hard work in planning and organising this event.

The theme for the cupcakes was Spring.
Inspired by a recent issue of Cake Craft & Decoration magazine, and Paul Bradford’s How to make a Sugar Daffodil video, I decided to go with Spring Flowers for my decoration, and raspberry & white chocolate for my cupcake. Half were fondant topped, and half with the traditional buttercream.

Of the fondant topped cupcakes the Daffodil, Hyacinth, & Rose cupcakes are my favourites.




For the buttercream-topped cupcakes, I went for a simple flat top of buttercream with a swirl, adorned with rainbow-coloured Hydrangeas.


All boxed up, and ready to go…



There was a great turn out today, with so many delicious cupcakes. I was thrilled and surprised when it was announced that my cupcakes won first prize!
I can’t wait to book my prize of a Chocolate Connoisseur Evening at Coco in Edinburgh. Just have to decide who to take with me…

25 thoughts on “Spring Flowers Cupcakes

  1. Congrats again. It was so lovely to meet you and I’m glad you had a great time! Can’t wait to hear all about the chocolate tasting (and grab a coffee!!!) xx Victoria

  2. These cupcakes look like winners to me 🙂 Absolutely perfect for Spring!

    By the way, I am Libby…you came over to my site and saw the Waves of the Danube Cake! I put your link on there — had anyone been clicking though to your site (hopefully)?

  3. Pingback: Cupcakes For Baby Ella « hungrysquirrelcakes

  4. Pingback: Cupcakes For Baby Ella | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

