Cinnamon & Raisin Loaf

P1020058

I’m back!

For regular readers, you may have noticed it has been sometime since I updated this blog.
I can now tell you that shortly after my last post (June 2012), I found out that Mr Hungry Squirrel and I were expecting our first child. This was the best news, and we were both over the moon to be starting a family together. However, what followed was 5-6 months of terrible morning sickness.
I can tell you now that whoever named it morning sickness was way off the mark… for me, nausea and vomiting was there all day long through the majority of my pregnancy. It was debilitating and draining, and meant I could not face baking/cooking/eating/or much else for that matter!

It is only within the last month or two that I feel the symptoms of Pregnancy Sickness have eased to the point that I feel like myself again, and feel the desire to bake again, hence my first blog post in some time.
This is also likely to be the last post in some time… Baby Squirrel is due next week! So who knows when I will find time to bake and blog again?!

Baby Squirrel & Me

Baby Squirrel & Me

Just the other day I came across this recipe on Pinterest for Amish Cinnamon Bread, and instantly felt a sudden urge to dust off my baking cobwebs.
This morning, I awoke bright and early after a reasonably good night’s sleep (for a pregnant lady), and got to work in the kitchen creating this delicious Cinnamon & Raisin Loaf.
I altered the recipe only with the addition of raisins.
This is definitely a recipe I will be using again. The loaf is beautifully moist, and the warmth of the cinnamon is most comforting, especially when served as a healthy slice slathered in lashings of butter… YUM!

P1020060

The Recipe

Ingredients

Loaf

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups golden granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 4 cups plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 cup of raisins
Filling/Topping

  • 2/3 cups golden granulated sugar mixed with 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Method

Preheat the oven to 170°C.
Lightly butter and line two 2lb loaf tins.

P1020038

Beat the softened butter and 2 cups of sugar until well blended.
Incorporate the eggs one at a time.
Add the buttermilk, flour, and baking soda, and mix on a slow speed until the batter comes together.
Finally mix in the raisins.
Put 1/4 of the batter into each loaf tin.
P1020042
Sprinkle 1/3 of cinnamon mixture on top of the batter in each pan.
P1020044
Add remaining batter to pans.
Divide the rest of the cinnamon topping over the top of the batter in each tin, and swirl in with a knife.
P1020048
Bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour. A fine skewer inserted into the centre of the cake should come out clean.

Cool in the tins for 20 minutes before removing from pan.

This recipe makes 2 loaves, so I would suggest freezing one for a rainy day.

Enjoy!

NB If you are also suffering with Pregnancy Sickness, it may be worth having a look at the website for Pregnancy Sickness Support. Sadly, I was not aware of this site when I was suffering with nausea and vomiting. I wish I had been pointed in the direction of this group and given more support by my Healthcare Professionals at a time when I was really struggling.

7 thoughts on “Cinnamon & Raisin Loaf

  1. glad you are feeling better and look forward to more delicious recipes to try and make!!! all the best for next week and will await the lovely news….xxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Sorry you’ve been suffering, glad to hear it’s passed. This is a great recipe, so great to have you back albeit for a short while 🙂 looking forward to hearing all about Baby Squirrel when they arrive. X

Leave a Reply

