Why I Blog

Blog

So regular readers will be aware of some changes to my blog lately, and these changes have got me thinking about why I write this blog…

The blog started out life as a way to document my baking, favourite recipes, and my progress as I decided to learn more about cake decorating… It was also a distraction and an outlet at a difficult time when Mr Hungry Squirrel and I were trying to conceive.

When pregnancy came, everything changed!

Pregnancy Collage

First came the sickness… I suffered throughout the majority of my pregnancy with hypermesis gravidarium (extreme nausea and vomiting).
Looking back, I don’t know how I managed to get through some days, but in my heart I know it was the thought of our precious little bundle arriving into this world that got us through.
As a result of the sickness my appetite changed, and instead of cravings I went off a wide variety of food. My diet through pregnancy consisted of very simple and plain foods, and baking was out of the question!

Next came Baby Squirrel… Our beautiful baby girl was born in March of this year. Motherhood fills my day now, so I find myself with less time for baking and sugarcrafting, and find myself immersed in nurturing, entertaining, and feeding Baby Squirrel. 

Baby & Me Collage

With less time for baking, I felt sad that my blog was almost redundant. I missed writing and I missed connecting with readers and friends on Twitter and on the Facebook page. So in October I decided to make some changes to the blog with a new name and new content.
Hungry Squirrels is now a lifestyle blog, covering food and family!

Since the birth of Baby Squirrel, I have been thinking about my own Mother a lot. Sadly she passed away from lung cancer in 2006. I miss her terribly and I think of her every day, but having a baby makes me miss her even more. I often find myself thinking of picking up the phone to speak to her, to ask her advice, and to just talk to Mum!

Mum & Me

Mum & Me

My motivation for this blog has changed from simply documenting my baking and cake decorating to documenting my thoughts and interests as a new Mum.
I now write for Baby Squirrel.
I hope that this blog will be something that she can look back on when I am older, and more importantly when I am no longer here. I hope it can answer some questions that she may have about my time as a new Mum. I hope that it will be a place where she can feel close to me when I am far away. I hope that she loves it!

Baby Squirrel & Me Collage

4 thoughts on “Why I Blog

  1. What a lovely post, and a really lovely reason for blogging. I think about if/when I might have kids sometimes and it makes me sad to think I wont have my mum around to offer words of wisdom, or a shoulder to cry on. It will be lovely for little Squirrel to have this archive of your time as a new Mum. xxxx

Leave a Reply

