The Butchershop Bar & Grill Glasgow

bs-logo_1000px
Over the last few months, I have really enjoyed meeting up with some fellow bloggers and Yelpers at various events such as Yelp’s Gallery of Glasgow launch and the book launch for Three Sisters Bake new cookbook.

Just the other week, a group of friendly bloggers on Twitter arranged a catch up over dinner at The Butchershop Bar & Grill near Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum. I jumped at the chance of dining out at The Butchershop. Mr Hungry Squirrel is a vegetarian, so I cook vegetarian at home. The thought of an iron-rich piece of steak on a Tuesday night was too good to miss! Also, I have heard many good things about The Butchershop and was keen to try it out.

The Butchershop is in a great location – just across the road from Kelvingrove Museum.  I was really surprised at how busy the restaurant was for a Tuesday night, but then I realised it was so busy as every Tuesday is Burger vs Steak Frites Tuesday…

burgerVSsteakfrites

This really is a great deal; from the a la carte menu, the steaks normally cost between £17.95 and £30.00.
Myself and Sharon of House of Herby were both driving, so we asked if it was possible to take part in this deal without the red wine. Without the wine it was £20 for 2 steak frites or burgers – £10 each. Brilliant!
We both opted for the steak frites and ordered some sides to share with Michelle of Ananyah lifestyle blog, and her boyfriend Ross. I also ordered a topping of Lanark Blue butter.

Rump steak topped with garlic herb butter

Rump steak topped with garlic herb butter

The steak that arrived can only be described as a thing of beauty! I had asked for the Lanark Blue butter as a topping, however this came in a little side dish – now I do love butter (it’s an Irish thing), but I thought that both the garlic herb butter and the Lanark Blue butter on the side was a bit much. Nonetheless, I tucked in and cleaned the plate!

I asked for my steak medium rare and it was cooked to perfection… Beautifully brown on the outside, and pink and tender in the middle. The flavour was brilliantly beefy, with the Lanark Blue butter complementing it superbly.

Just right!

Just right!

As for the sides… the onion rings were my favourite with crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside, batter. We also enjoyed some garlic sautéed mushrooms, green beans & garlic, and a lovely rocket & parmesan salad.

Top left - rump steak with Lanark Blue butter Top right - skinny fries Bottom left - a stack of onion rings Bottom right - garlic sautéed mushrooms and green beans & Garlic

Top left – rump steak with Lanark Blue butter
Top right – skinny fries
Bottom left – a stack of onion rings
Bottom right – garlic sautéed mushrooms and green beans & garlic

I can honestly say this was one of the best meals I have enjoyed in a while. With all the sides we shared, there was no room left for dessert (a rare occurrence for Hungry Squirrel). It isn’t often I skip the opportunity for dessert when I am out and about, but my hunger was completely satisfied after this meal, and I was most definitely in my happy place.

The Butchershop Bar & Grill…, I will be back!

 

One thought on “The Butchershop Bar & Grill Glasgow

Leave a Reply

