The Best of BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2014

BBC Good Food Show Scotland Logo

I attended my first BBC Good Food Show last year with my Mother-In-Law & Little Squirrel. I love visiting Farmers Markets, and buying from the producer themselves, so was in my element drinking in all that was on offer.

This year, I was delighted when Mr Hungry Squirrel offered to look after Little Squirrel by himself for the day, allowing myself and my Dad (who was over visiting for the week) to have some time to ourselves, enjoying one of our favourite past times – food glorious food!

Father - daughter selfie

Dad & I in foodie heaven at the BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2014

With over 100 exhibitors showing off their wares at Glasgow’s SECC, there really is something for everyone. Here are my favourites from my visit this year…

WHITES OATS

Nestled between the rolling hills of Tandragee, County Armagh in Ireland sits White’s oat mill. White’s has been milling oats for over 170 years and is Northern Ireland’s only oat mill and breakfast producer. – White’s Oats

As coincidence would have it, this was the first stall I stumbled across. I was sampling their delicious Apple & Cinnamon Crunch Toasted Oats when I got speaking to the happy, friendly staff manning the stall. As usual with us Northern Irish folk, it turns out we know people in common.
Their Toasted Oats are delicious – the perfect way to start your day as a cereal, or would be lovely added to your crumble topping to give it an extra crunchy dimension.

Left - delicious wholegrain oat clusters with fruit pieces Middle - super lovely staff manning the White's Oats stall Right - a lovely goody bag full of oath goodness given to me by the lovely people at White's Oats

Left – delicious wholegrain oat clusters with fruit pieces
Middle – super lovely staff manning the White’s Oats stall
Right – a lovely goody bag full of oaty goodness given to me by the lovely people at White’s Oats

I can’t wait to try the goodies from my goodie bag. Perfect time of year for hearty, warming porridges! There is also a great selection of recipes to try on the White’s Oats website.

THE OCHIL FUDGE PANTRY

I first heard of “The Fudge Girls” of the Ochil Fudge Pantry through friend and fellow blogger, Pammi, aka Glasgow Food Geek. I know Pammi has great taste when it comes to all things food, so was on the lookout for the Ochil Fudge girls at the SECC last weekend. I was amazed at the huge selection of flavours the girls produce, and am thrilled to see that I can, in future, order fudgy goodies through their online Ochil Fudge Pantry shop. I opted for Just Plain Fudge, Ginger Fudge, and Baileys & White Chocolate Fudge. I sampled the Bailey’s & White Chocolate Fudge at the weekend, and it definitely put a smile on my face. Deliciously smooth hand-beaten fudge with a heavenly well-balanced flavour of Baileys & white chocolate.

Susan of The Ochil Fudge Pantry & an amazing selection of creamy smooth fudge!

Susan of The Ochil Fudge Pantry & an amazing selection of creamy smooth fudge!

I have since found out that I can also stock up on Ochil Fudge while at home in Northern Ireland in the wonderful McCartneys of Moira – happy days!

THE SAUCE QUEEN

Another super recommendation from the lovely Pammi of Glasgow Food Geek was The Sauce Queen… aka Elys Poppy. Elys makes her award-winning sauces from her own kitchen.

The vision is to have the restaurant quality sauces available to everyone and to make today’s busy lives easier without compromising on taste is what drives the Queen. – The Sauce Queen

I sampled the Porcini Mushroom Sauce, the Peppercorn & Brandy Sauce, and the Stilton & White Wine Sauce, and bought all three! Each sauce had incredible flavour, and was beautifully creamy. They keep for up to 5 weeks in the fridge, and can also be frozen.

The Sauce Queen & her delicious range of sauces!

The Sauce Queen & her delicious range of sauces!

Can’t wait to try these out! The Sauce Queen also has an online shop if you want to try some for yourself… go on, you know you want to!

THE COLLECTIVE

The Collective produce, in my opinion, the best yoghurt out there. I have been a fan of this brand for about a year now, with their Passionfruit yoghurt and Russian Fudge yoghurt frequently occupying a space in my fridge tummy! One of Little Squirrel’s favourite foods is yoghurt, so I was thrilled when The Collective recently launched a range of fresh yoghurt and fruit suckies, which are ideal for Little Squirrel’s little hands.

I love the interesting flavours that The Collective produce, and love their range of special limited edition flavours, such as their Autumnal Spiced Pumkin, and Winter Christmas Pud.

The Collective stall at the Show had a great selection of flavours to try and buy. I opted for the Coconut & Lime yoghurt and a selection of the suckies for Little Squirrel. I really loved the Coconut & Lime flavour and will definitely be buying that again!

Left - she put de lime in de coconut Middle - Little Squirrel enjoying a Collective suckie Right - a selection of Collective suckies

Left – she put de lime in de coconut
Middle – Little Squirrel enjoying a Collective suckie
Right – a selection of Collective suckies

If you haven’t tried The Collective yoghurts already, I urge you to look out for them next time you are in the dairy aisle.

RAMSAY OF CARLUKE

Apparently Nick Nairn has stated that Ramsay of Carluke produce “the best black pudding in Scotland”, so I was excited to visit their stall to try it for myself. Both my Dad & I love black pudding (with Clonakilty Black Pudding being one of our favourites). There was a never-ending supply of Ramsay’s black pudding being offered out to visitors to the show. Both Dad & I were sold on Ramsay’s Black Pudding after sampling it. It is quite different to it’s Irish cousin, Clonakilty Black Pudding, but equally delicious! Dad also picked up a haggis to take back to N Ireland with him – Dad never passes up the opportunity of buying haggis when in Scotland!

Black Pudding Ramsays of Carluke

A bevy of Black Puddings

Ramsay of Carluke produce are available to order online through their website.

PERFICK PORK

We were lucky enough to walk past the Perfick Pork stall just as some freshly cooked sausages were being served up for sampling. We got to try their Mediterranean sausage and the Norfolk Farmhouse sausage. Both had a lovely texture and the flavours were delicious… Happy Customers once again walked away with a pack of each!

Perfick Pork

Perfick Pork!

Perfick Pork are based in Norfolk, and rear their own pigs. They also have a great website with a blog, some recipe ideas, and an online shop where you can order their tasty bangers!

ISLE OF ARRAN CHEESE

Finally, we couldn’t leave the Food Show without buying some cheese. We both loved this award winning Isle of Arran Extra Mature Cheddar, with a punchy, yet smooth flavour, and a beautiful creamy texture.

Cheese please!

Cheese please!

Phew! What a great day we had at this year’s BBC Good Food Show. We thoroughly enjoyed sampling and buying lots of delicious goods, and had a lovely time chatting to some amazing, talented, enthusiastic, and friendly suppliers! Looking forward to next year’s show already…

All the foody goodies from the BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2014!

All the foody goodies from the BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2014!

3 thoughts on “The Best of BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2014

  1. Oh my oh my, what an incredible post! It looks like you had the best foodie day ever, going to a BBC Good Food Show has been on my bucket list forever and reading this has got me all excited. Perhaps 2015 will be my time to go! Your goodies look so scrumptious, especially all the wonderful oats and yoghurt 😊 a breakfast lover’s dream!
    Rosie x
    http://www.rosebudbakes.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2015 Haul | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

