An Evening At Jamie’s Italian Glasgow

Jamies Italian Welcome

I was lucky enough to be invited to a bloggers event at Jamie’s Italian in Glasgow last week for an evening of canapé-style tasters and cocktails.

I have been a fan of Jamie’s Italian in Glasgow since it opened, and before I had the Little Squirrels I used to frequent it regularly. However with the Little Squirrels keeping me busy I haven’t been in over 3 years now!
I did pay a recent visit to Jamie’s Italian in Edinburgh to meet one of my best friends and her new baby with Littlest Squirrel. I have to be honest I was a little disappointed, as I felt the food and the staff weren’t quite up to the standard that I remembered from my previous trips to the Glasgow restaurant. So I was interested to see what Jamie’s Italian in Glasgow could offer…

To start the night off the general manager, Ed, gave us an introduction to the restaurants’ ethos, staff, suppliers, and menus.

The lovely Ed gave an interesting talk on all things Jamie's Italian!

The lovely Ed gave an interesting talk on all things Jamie’s Italian!

I was most interested in hearing about the kids menu, as I am always on the lookout for interesting and healthy food while out and about with the Little Squirrels! The Kids Menu at Jamie’s Italian has some really lovely organic, nutritious, and fun meals for the little ones. I love the sound of the Happy Chicken Lollipops – freshly made lemony organic chicken fillet lollipops with baked hedgehog potatoes and crunchy nuts and seeds. Another nice touch for the little ones is the Kids Pack – filled with bits and bobs to keep the kiddos entertained, and a little pack of seeds to take home and plant.

I love the attention to detail for the little ones from the ViewMaster to view the kids menu through to the fun-filled Kids Packs.

I love the attention to detail for the little ones from the ViewMaster to view the kids menu through to the fun-filled Kids Packs.

Next we were treated to a cocktail masterclass. Unfortunately I was driving so didn’t get a chance to sample the cocktails on offer, but they all looked and smelled amazing.

Cocktail masterclass - next time I'll leave the car at home!

Cocktail masterclass – next time I’ll leave the car at home!

The highlight of the evening for me was most definitely the food. We were promised an evening of canapé-style tasters, but we were really spoiled with a huge selection of dishes to try.

Left - plank of chargrilled vegetables, mini buffalo mozzarella, smashed minty pea and chilli salsa, and crunchy vegetable slaw. Middle - delicious cured meats Right - courgettes friend in breadcrumbs with chilli jam

Left – plank of chargrilled vegetables, mini buffalo mozzarella, smashed minty pea and chilli salsa, and crunchy vegetable slaw
Middle – delicious cured meats
Right – courgettes friend in breadcrumbs with chilli jam

The highlights of the night for me were the dry-aged rib eye steak with deep fried gnocchi, the Summer Truffle Risotto, and the Turkey Milanese.
The steak was beautifully tender and had a deep beefy flavour, complimented perfectly by the mushrooms, onions, and little golden nuggets of deep fried gnocchi!
The Summer Truffle Risotto is a perfect vegetarian option, jam packed with flavour and a lovely mix of textures form the smooth creamy risotto to the crunchy breadcrumb topping.
I loved the look of the Turkey Milanese adorned with a free-range egg and black summer truffle, and the flavour did not disappoint!

From left to right - Dry-aged rib eye steak with portobello mushrooms, balsamic onions and deep fried gnocchi Summer Truffle Risotto An array of mini Ultimate Burgers Turkey Milanese

From left to right –
Dry-aged rib eye steak with portobello mushrooms, balsamic onions and deep fried gnocchi
Summer Truffle Risotto
An array of mini Ultimate Burgers
Turkey Milanese

Finally we got to sample Jamie’s Epic Brownie – and yes, it was epic… fudgy, velvety brownie with little nuggets of caramelised popcorn and dreamy vanilla ice cream!

Epic Brownie - dessert heaven!

Epic Brownie – dessert heaven!

My pictures only represent about half of the dishes we were presented with to try. We really were spoiled and I can honestly say that everything I sampled was delicious, and has left me hungry for more visits to Jamie’s Italian. The staff were all great, I love the surroundings, and there is something for everyone on the menu. Jamie’s Italian Glasgow… you’ve still got it!

Big Thanks to all the staff at Jamie’s Italian Glasgow for a fantastic evening, look forward to coming in with the Little Squirrels!

Leave a Reply

