Drop Scones

Pancakes

If you follow my Instagram account or are friends with me on Facebook you will have noticed that there have been a lot of pancakes being produced and consumed in the Squirrel household of late! Since we moved into our new home last year I have thoroughly enjoyed our first proper family kitchen. My favourite time of the week is weekend breakfast with the family, and the perfect breakfast for me is orange juice, coffee, and pancakes!

Dreamy drop scone with a generous slathering of butter and golden syrup!

Dreamy drop scone with a generous slathering of butter and golden syrup!

Growing up in the Møller household, my Mum’s pancakes were definitely a source of excitement for me and my brothers. Pancakes drizzled with syrup, maple syrup, or butter and sugar were a firm favourite and Mum would often whip up an extra batch when the first lot had been swiftly devoured! For me I struggle to choose between skinny crêpes or these fluffy drop scones. To make… these little drop scones are easy peasy, and lots of my friends have asked me to share the recipe so here goes.

The Recipe

Ingredients

  • 6oz self-raising flour
  • 1 level tsp baking powder
  • 1.5oz caster sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 200ml milk
Method
Heat a heavy-based frying pan and grease with oil (I use olive oil).
Measure the flour, baking powder and caster sugar out into a large mixing bowl. Add the egg and half the milk into a well in the centre, and using a balloon whisk beat until smooth. Gradually whisk in the remaining milk, and you will be left with a thick batter.
With your pan on a medium heat drop tablespoonfuls of the batter into the pan, spacing well apart. I usually cook four at a time. After 30 seconds you will see  little bubbles rising to the surface of your little pools of batter. At this point turn with a palette knife and cook on the other side for a further 20-30 seconds. Lift off on to a wire rack, and repeat until you have a beautiful batch of drop scones ready to serve.
Little bubbles - ready to turn over

Little bubbles – ready to turn over

Serve with a slathering of butter and a swirl of golden syrup – delicious!
Little Squirrel Drop Scones Collage

Little Squirrel enjoying her drop scones

These are definitely best fresh off the pan though my Little Squirrels are quite happy to finish them off later that day!
One thought on “Drop Scones

  1. Pingback: Pancakes – A Recipe For Crêpes | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

