Banana Leaf Glasgow – A Review

9f70b9_11241e493d0d4ea99d44479ca7cf3c68.jpg_srz_p_596_447_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

I received an exciting email a few months ago from the Wong Family inviting me for a complementary meal at the VIP relaunch party of their newly renovated restaurant, Banana Leaf. I had heard lots about Banana Leaf through my friend and fellow blogger Michelle, and have been yearning for a visit to try out the Malaysian Chinese cuisine that Banana Leaf has such a great reputation for. So quick-smart, I asked Granny Squirrel if she would babysit the Little Squirrels to allow Mr Hungry Squirrel and myself a rare night out.

Sadly, I had never been to Banana Leaf previously, so I cannot comment on how it looked before, but I have to say the newly renovated restaurant looks beautiful. It is very warm and welcoming with beautiful lighting and calming green walls and ceilings. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, and the menu was right up my street. I love the flavours of Oriental cuisine, and I really struggled to choose between so many delicious-sounding dishes.

To start, I went for the Chicken Satay Skewers with Peanut Sauce. It was delicious… tender and moist skewers of perfectly cooked chicken accompanied by a heavenly peanut sauce. This was one of the best Satays I have ever tasted.
Mr Hungry Squirrel went for the Salt & Chilli Tofu with Peppers & Onions. Wow! This was packed full of flavour, and definitely a starter that I would order again.

Left - Salt & Chilli Tofu with Peppers & Onions Right - Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

Left – Salt & Chilli Tofu with Peppers & Onions
Right – Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

For main course I opted for the Char Siu Pork with a side dish of Pak Choi. The pork was deliciously sweet and the pak choi was the perfect accompaniment. Mr Hungry Squirrel chose Mixed Seasonal Vegetables in a Curry Sauce. The curry was incredible, packed full of flavour and perfectly spiced.

Left - Char Siu Pork Middle - Pak Choi Right - Mixed Seasonal Vegetables in a Curry Sauce

Left – Char Siu Pork
Middle – Pak Choi
Right – Mixed Seasonal Vegetables in a Curry Sauce

The portions were extremely generous, so there was little room left for dessert. However, on Michelle‘s recommendation, we decided to share the Pandan Pancake with Ice Cream. This little pancake is filled with a delicate pandan-flavoured custard. A really beautiful dessert, and definitely one I would order again!

Pandan Pancake with Ice Cream

Pandan Pancake with Ice Cream

I can honestly say that this was an outstanding meal, and I am already planning my next trip to Banana Leaf (hopefully when Grandpa Squirrel is visiting next week).
I should also mention that Mr Hungry Squirrel is vegetarian, and does not always get the chance to get as excited about his food as I do, due to unimaginative vegetarian menu choices at many restaurants. However, he raved about his meal at Banana Leaf.

Many Thanks to the Wong family and their wonderful staff for inviting us to the relaunch of their restaurant. Wishing you much success and happiness, and look forward to dining in Banana Leaf again.

PS – If you are heading to the BBC Good Food Show Scotland next weekend (Nov 06-08), be sure to look out for Banana Leaf who will have a stand there serving food to go… Yum!

Happy Squirrels

Happy Squirrels!

One thought on “Banana Leaf Glasgow – A Review

  1. Pingback: BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2015 Haul | Hungry Squirrels

Leave a Reply

