BBC Good Food Show Scotland 2015 Haul

IMG_4398.JPG

Autumn has to be my favourite time of the year. I love the colours of the leaves and the crunch and crackle underfoot once they have fallen from the trees. I love blackberries. I love crisp Autumn days. And I love the BBC Good Food Show which makes its journey up to Scotland every Autumn. My Dad and I had such a lovely food-filled day there last year, that we decided to book him flights over from Ireland to coincide with this year’s festival.

So on the first Saturday in November Dad and I found ourselves back at Glasgow’s SECC for my favourite food event of the year…

GFS Dad&Me

Pre-festival excitement!

One of the highlights for me this year was watching Michel Roux Jr demonstrate in the Supertheatre. He comes across as a real gentleman and very sincere – only wish I could have sampled some of the duck supreme he rustled up as part of the demonstration.

Roux Collage

Michel Roux Jr at the BBC Good Food Show Scotland

A trip to the Good Food Show always means some tasty food-on-the-go. This year I was thrilled to see Banana Leaf had a stall. They were serving little samplers of their dishes on a pay what you think it is worth basis. There was chicken satay, ma po tofu, beef and pickles. Banana Leaf’s cuisine is right up my street, hoping to see them there next year maybe with a bigger stall!
I am a sucker for a hog roast, so couldn’t resist a spit roast hog roll with apple sauce and sage & onion stuffing. It was from The Mill House Roast Company and was delicious. My only complaint is I would have liked more crispy crackling… Yum!

GFS food Collage.jpg

Left – Happy Squirrel enjoying some delicious tasters from Banana Leaf Glasgow
Right – spit roast hog roll from The Mill House Roast Company

I love discovering new producers at the Good Food Show and buying their goods to take home and enjoy too. This year I got an excellent deal on some salamis from Continental Cottage, and am slowly working my way through them. I also picked up some tubs of curry sauce from The Curry Sauce Company. These are really handy for a quick and tasty meal. Mr Hungry Squirrel is vegetarian so I use the Quorn chicken pieces – I find it best if you leave the Quorn pieces to marinate in the sauce for at least 3 hours before heating. This way it really soaks up the lovely flavours from the sauces and remains moist and tender.

GFS curry cottage Collage

Left – The Curry Sauce Co
Right – Continental Cottage with a fabulous range of salamis & cured meats

Every year I love to pick up some cheese, there are always lots of great cheese producers at the Good Food Show. This year I couldn’t walk past the Snowdonia Cheese Company and their fabulous Black Bomber truckle. I love a mature cheddar and this Black Bomber is definitely one of my favourites. We also picked up a Ruby Mist (a mature cheddar with hints of port and brandy) and a Red Storm truckle (a delicious vintage red cheddar). I was really impressed with these cheeses. Beautiful smooth mature cheese with excellent flavours!

Snowdonia Cheese CompanyCollage.jpg

Snowdonia Cheese Company – top class cheese!

I also stocked up on some jams and preserves from local producers Perthshire Preserves. I went for Apple Jam, Lemon Preserve and Bramble Conserve. I love this Bramble Conserve. It is utterly delicious and takes me back to my childhood picking blackberries for my Mum’s Bramble Jelly. I finished this jar off in less than a week!

Perthshire Preserves Collage.jpg

Left – this Bramble Conserve is perfect
Right – a huge selection of jams, jellies, marmalades and chutneys

I couldn’t walk past the lovely ladies from the Ochil Fudge Pantry without stocking up on their fudge. This year I went for the delicious Rum Truffle Fudge, Salted Caramel Fudge and my Dad went for the Ginger Fudge.

Ochil Fudge Collage.jpg

An amazing range of smooth, creamy fudge from the Ochil Fudge Pantry

Finally I bought a present for Mr Hungry Squirrel from Jaw Brew. These have gone down very well!

IMG_4436

A selection pack of craft ales for Mr Hungry Squirrel

Yet again, a fun food-filled day out at the BBC Good Food Show Scotland. Loved the show, and loved the goodies we bought. See you next year folks!

 

Leave a Reply

