A Unicorn Cake For Little Squirrel’s 3rd Birthday

IMG_8135

It took me a while to decide what the theme of this year’s birthday cake would be for Little Squirrel. I wanted to make something special for her, as I didn’t get round to making her a birthday cake last year with Littlest Squirrel only weeks old.
Little Squirrel really loves all things magical and fantastical such as fairies, unicorns, and mermaids. I settled on the unicorn theme, when a few weeks ago she told me she would like a pet Unicorn called Unicornio for her birthday! (Dora The Explorer fans will understand where this comes from). As usual I took to Pinterest for some inspiration. Here were my favourites from Pinterest…

I stuck to Nigella’s Old Fashioned Chocolate cake for the cake itself and I used a free online tutorial by Celia Adams to create the little unicorn.

IMG_8142.JPG

The trickiest part of this cake was creating the rainbow stripes that went round the circumference of the cake. I used regular sugar paste and modelling paste to create the stripes but it was much too malleable and I found it very difficult to keep the stripes uniform and tidy. If I was to do this again, I think flower paste would be the answer.

Unicorn cake Collage.jpg

Unicorn Cake for Little Squirrel’s 3rd Birthday

Most importantly Little Squirrel absolutely loved her cake.

Little Squirrel Unicorn cake Collage.jpg

Little Squirrel & her Unicorn Cake

This is definitely one of my favourite cakes so far. I love the unicorn, I love the bright colours of the rainbow stripes and I love how happy it made my big 3 year old!

Cutting the cake Collage.jpg

Cutting the cake…

Leave a Reply

