A Letter To Little Squirrel – On Your 4th Birthday

Martha.jpg
4 years has gone by in a blink of an eye. It seems like no time since we welcomed you into our world and brought you home to our little West End flat.
A lot has happened in that 4 years… we moved from Glasgow to Lenzie, you have become a big sister, and you have grown into a clever, beautiful and funny little girl.

MarthaBirthdayCollage

Celebrating 1st, 2nd, & 3rd birthdays

You are strong and determined, which most definitely brings its challenges for Mummy & Daddy, (currently struggling with outfit choices on a daily basis) but I really hope you keep these traits as you will go far little one!

You are kind and caring, and you love to look after people. Your most recent favourite game is to play Doctors with your medical kit, and you have the loveliest bedside manner as Dr M. My heart swells with pride when I see you gently cooing over the newest baby arrivals in our circle of friends.

Loving our friend’s new baby

You love to sing and dance, and my heart literally sings with joy when we sing along to our favourite songs from Moana, Trolls and Frozen. Music was a huge part of my life with my Mum, and I look forward to the day when I can sit beside you on a piano stool and play a duet with you like I did with my Mum. Keep singing little one!

IMG_2274.JPG

Enjoying a trip to Glasgow to see Moana at the cinema

You love your friends and I love to watch your friendships grow. You have a special bond with Noah, Heather, and Holly, whom you have known since you were all tiny babies and I am very grateful for the special friendships I have formed with their Mums.

MarthaFriends Collage.jpg

Martha & friends!

You are protective of your little sister.
Just last week we were out in Princes Square in Glasgow. Before I had you, I used to watch all the little ones running round and round in the little sunken area in the basement of Princes Square, and would daydream about watching my own children enjoy this space.  On our most recent trip to Princes Square a little girl ran up to you both and screamed in your faces. My heart swelled with pride when I saw you put your arms around your little sister and watched you usher her away in the most protective and loving way. Of course, as all siblings do, we also have to referree your squabbles with each other. But those moments when you look out for each other make all the tough moments worth it!

IMG_0095.JPG

Sisterly love 🙂

You love your family. Your little face lights up when we visit Granny & Grandad McKenzie in Langbank, and Grandpa Møller from Ireland. You don’t get to see Grandpa as much as Granny & Grandad because of distance, but your bond with him is remarkably strong. I am so happy that you have a special bond with each of your Grandparents. I only wish you could have known your Nanny Møller. She was a very special lady who would have loved you very much. I look at you and I see her in your big, deep, long-lashed eyes. She has most definitely gifted these to you!

My darling girl… we love you to the moon and back! Xxx

img_3534

6 thoughts on “A Letter To Little Squirrel – On Your 4th Birthday

  1. Hi Ali, An excellent letter to Martha on her Birthday. As you say it is a pity she wasn’t able to be with Anne on our visits to each other. I am sure Anne would have loved to watch Martha and Ciara grow up. Looking forward to seeing you all on Saturday. Love, Dad. xxx

  2. Happy belated birthday, Little Squirrel!

    She’s an absolute diamond, that girl. Her good heart and kindness is obvious even now. You should be incredibly proud of the wonderful girls you are raising.

    xx

Leave a Reply

